Poem-A-Thon 2015 to support Victims of Domestic Violence

April is National Poetry Month, and I am participating in a Poem-A-Thon. I am committing to writing a poem a day in April to raise funds for Artemis House. Artemis House offers a safe, confidential location and supportive counseling to victims of domestic abuse in addition to offering psycho-educational programs on domestic violence, helping connect individuals to services needed, and providing a time to gather themselves emotionally to resume functioning in society.

I work in family homeless services as an employment coach, and time and time again the stories that I see that are the most difficult, and the most empowering, to overcome are single mothers who are victims of domestic violence. The needs of these women who are all at once exited from their homes and the lives they knew are immense. They sometimes come to shelter with literally only the clothes on their backs. By supporting Artemis House through my Poem-A-Thon, you’re providing support to women who need to rebuild themselves from the ground up, and providing stability that will enable them to succeed in the future

How it works:

Sponsors of my Poem-A-Thon will donate via cash, check or PayPal (cash in-person only).

  • ANY amount of donation: I will email you a poem every day that was written on that day. If you start late, I will send you the previous poems you missed.
  • For a $30 donation, you will get the poems and be able to assign me a word to incorporate into a poem.
  • For a $60 donation, you will get the poems, be able to assign me a word to incorporate into a poem, and you will be able to choose the theme for an entire poem. If you want me to write a poem about chairs, I will write about chairs. If you want me to write about gnomes riding ducklings, I will write a poem about gnomes riding ducklings.
  • For $100 donation, you’ll get all of the above, plus some sort of artwork/broadside of a poem at the end of the poem-a-thon.

To participate, send me an email at dexlira@gmail.com and I’ll get you started.

More information about Artemis House can be found on the Shelter House website: www.shelterhouse.org

2 thoughts on “Poem-A-Thon 2015 to support Victims of Domestic Violence

Leave a Reply

